Information Exchange Committee

MarketRetail Meetings

The IEC is a statutory body established under the National Electricity Rules responsible for developing and making recommendations on changing B2B Procedures. The role and responsibilities of the IEC are defined by the Rules, the IEC Operating Manual, and the IEC Election Procedures.

In completing its statutory role in relation to managing the ongoing development of B2B Procedures and any changes to them, the IEC:

  1. Makes recommendations on B2B Procedure changes and oversees the consultation process.
  2. In conjunction with AEMO, considers implications of potential policy changes which may affect B2B Procedures.
  3. Identifies B2B Procedure continuous improvement opportunities.
  4. In conjunction with AEMO, monitors and contributes to B2B Procedure delivery management and prioritisation.

The IEC has established and works closely with the B2B Working Group to undertake a range of investigations with industry input on its behalf. The IEC provides specific directions to the B2B Working Group in relation to the scope of activities and timelines that it requires for each matter it refers to the working group. Information on the B2B Working Group can be found here.

IEC call for nominations

The terms of current IEC members Mr Peter Price (Distributor), Mr David Markham (Retailer) and Mr Robert Lo Giudice (Metering) are due to expire 31 August 2020.   

In light of this,  AEMO as Secretariat for the IEC, is seeking member nominations by 6 August 2020 for the following member categories: 

  • Retail member for a two-year appointment period commencing 1 September 2020.  
  • Metering member for a two-year appointment period commencing 1 September 2020.  
  • Distribution network service provider member for a two-year appointment period commencing 1 September 2020.   

Those parties wishing to put forward a nomination should complete the below nomination form and submit it to by COB on 6 August 2020. 

IEC register of members

The table below presents the members of the IEC. 

Member category

IEC members nominated

Appointment period


Mr John Pittard – AEMO director

12 months
1 Mar 20 – 1 Mar 21            


Mr Peter Price (Head of Corporate Strategy and Executive General Manager Asset Safety and Performance, EnergyQueensland)

2 years
1 Sept 18 – 31 Aug 20


Mr David Markham (Corporate Affairs, Australia Energy Council)

2 years
1 Sept 18 – 31 Aug 20 


Mr Robert Lo Giudice - (Manager, Metering Coordinator, Intellihub)

2 years
1 Sept 18 – 31 Aug 20

Energy Consumer

Mr David Havyatt (Senior Economist – Energy Consumers Australia)

2 years             
1 Sept 18 – 1 Sept 20             

Discretionary (retail)

Mr Peter Van Loon (Telstra Energy)

12 months
1 Mar 20 – 1 Mar 21

Discretionary (metering)

Mr Doug Ross (Chairman, Competitive Metering Industry Group)

12 months
1 Mar 20 - 1 Mar 21

Discretionary (Embedded networks)

Mr Marco Bogaers (Executive Director, Metropolis)

12 months
1 Mar 20 – 1 Mar 21             

Discretionary (distributor)

Ms Emma Youill (General Manager, AusNet Services) 

12 months
1 Mar 20 – 1 Mar 21             

B2B Change Process

The process for making changes to B2B Procedures is outlined in the B2B Change Process:

Participants who want to identify a prospective change to B2B Procedures should submit an Issue / Change Form (ICF) to using the template below.

Records of IEC meetings

Records of IEC meetings prior to July 2016 have been archived. To access these records please contact:

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.