NEM generation maps

AEMO has published a series of maps that provide details on:

  • Volumes of connection interest within particular NEM* regions and sub regions.

These maps are intended to facilitate more informed decision-making by potential investors, allow network service providers (NSP) to consider potential future network expansion, and for AEMO to identify potential operational constraint and emerging security issues.

  • NSW
  • QLD
  • SA
  • TAS
  • VIC

The maps can be downloaded as PDF files below.

*The NEM spans Australia’s eastern and south-eastern coasts and comprises of five interconnected states that also act as price regions: Queensland, New South Wales (including the Australian Capital Territory), South Australia, Victoria, and Tasmania.

Western Australia (WEM) and the Northern Territory are not connected to the NEM, primarily due to the distance between networks. 

Read more about the NEM in this fact sheet.


Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.